A Resident's Life

This is a blog about my trials and tribulations as I complete my residency.

Friday, February 10, 2006

Broken record

It is so frustrating. It never changes. Any time that Jurgen has some problem, some potentially life-altering change coming up he freaks out. And I could "never understand". No never. Sure, I am a few years behind him, but that doesn't mean that I don' t get it!

He is at this thing in Banff to prepare him for his exams. He had some practice exams today and he failed one. One. Now, his life is over. All he can think about is how he shouldn't have taken the job in Regina, how we shouldn't have bought another house. His solution? Quit. Yeah, that will make the mortgage go away and the job contract just disappear! What can he do? LEARN from this. Find out what he is doing wrong. Ask the examiners questions, find out what they are looking for, ask where he can improve. Above all else, TRY. That is the only thing that he can do.

What is the worst that can happen? He fails. Yes, that is truly horrible, and would absolutely suck, but he can write it again in the fall. One guy last year failed, and he rewrote it, and he passed the second time. Was his life over? I am sure it felt like it for a little while, but he got back on the horse and made it happen.

So frustrating. I thought we were done with being an ostrich. For NINE years I have heard him say that I "don't understand". I could never understand wanting to get into Medicine and how HARD that could be and how IMPOSSIBLE it is. I could never understand GETTING THROUGH medical school and how impossible that is. I could never understand how impossible it could be to get into Anesthesia, to pass the LMCC, to get through residency. The answer? Always the same - quit. That will make life better. That will make life easier. And the advice your girlfriend/wife gives you? It isn't worth anything. What could she possibly know? How could she EVER possibly understand.

Well, I am tired of the Fucking Broken Record. Fine. I don't understand. I don't know anything. So don't ask.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home