a mismash of emotions
I was on call again the other day (do I do anything else?) for the ICU. The evening started with the realization that my husband (best friend and life partner) was also on call, but for Anesthesia. I was called early in the evening about a young woman who had overdosed and needed to be intubated. As I was rounding the corner to the ER, the door to the OR opens and who walks out? My husband! I knew what he was doing - he thought he was going to get to intubate this girl. Not if I could help it, and get there first!! So, we ran down the hall (laughing) to be the first one there. He let me go ahead - let the "junior" have a chance. He kept calling me "Dr. McBain" until finally I said, "I like that, can you call me that at home?". He said, "sure, Dr. McBain it is your turn to take out the garbage!" Smart ass. So that part of the night was fun. (yes I really am a geek if I found that fun. What can I say, I like my job for the most part, and sharing it with my favorite person is even better.)
The night started to get long when I kept getting paged about one patient. A man who had heart surgery and wasn't doing too well. We were having a lot of problems with his blood pressure. He also went into Atrial fibrillation so we started some Amiodarone.
Then I laid down to sleep for a bit. It was about 2:00 in the morning. All of the sudden I am awoken from my slumber with a soft knock at my call room door. I opened up the door, and who did I see? My husband! He had come to cuddle for a bit! We have never done that before, but let me tell you, the minute he climbed in, I was fast asleep. My own personal teddy bear!
Alas, it didn't last too long. About a half hour later my pager went off and I was asked to see a patient for preop assessment. This guy had an incarcerated hernia, but MAJOR heart problems and acute renal failure. My husband was also paged for the same guy (what a team we make!), about 5 minutes later. That was the end of our little liason, as the patient was going to have to go to the OR in a couple of hours. The patient was OK at present, but who knew if the stress of surgery would be enough to put him over the edge?
So, back to my bed for a little nap interrupted with calls about blood pressure, and low heart rates. Suddenly, it is 5:30 in the morning and I get a call to come to one of the rooms right away. I walk into the ICU and see a "Code" in process. The reason that I didn't hear it overhead is that the ICU runs their own codes. There was already someone running it when I got there. I just stood in the back and shouted out suggestions. I felt completely useless. Then I had to call my attending and the cardiac surgeon and let them know what had happened. It was the same man who I had been dealing with all night. Sort of frustrating, and depressing, but not too much I could really do. We did manage to get him back, at least for another 12 hours (he coded again later the next evening, again pulled through).
I like the ICU. I like what I do, but I hate the nights. I feel like too much of this would end up kililng me. At the very least make me completely depressed and hate my life. All would be good if I didn't have to do call.
At least I learn a lot at night.
