A Resident's Life

This is a blog about my trials and tribulations as I complete my residency.

Sunday, June 25, 2006

organizing a new house





I just spent the weekend moving my husband into his ("our") new house. It is still pretty bare, but starting to look like a home. I think it just needs some plants or something (like maybe a wife!), and it will be OK. I am looking forward to spending some time at our new home. Despite the fact that no one else does, I like Regina.

Wednesday, June 21, 2006

He is finished

Another hurdle over for my Hubby!! In fact, the last hurdle. Jurgen had his last day as a resident EVER today!! He is, as we speak, having a nap to celebrate. He is no longer anyone's Bitch (I wish, I dream)! Now for bigger and better things that pay bigger and better!!

Should have blogged yesturday...

Yesturday I had a really good day in the OR. Everything went really well with all of my anesthestics, my attending gave a good review (he said I was ready to be a consultant NOW), and I even got a compliment from the surgeon (in a round-about sort of way).
Today everything went OK (my one block didn't work the way I wanted), but I let one person at the end of the day get under my skin. The surgeon (short version) was very rude to me, enough so that it was recognized by one of the nurses (she said "you are kind" I said "because I have to be"). My attending was out of the room so I guess he felt he could get away with it. He did. I didn't say anything. Maybe he was made that his case was delayed, but that had nothing to do with me (let alone Anesthesia in general).
So, then I was grumpy when I phoned Jurgen to see how his day went. He wasn't very nice either, but it may have been just my interpretation.
I feel undervalued, underappreciated, and unloved. Not a fun feeling. I am getting really tired of being a resident and letting people walk all over me. Maybe now that I am a "senior" I won't have to. I really would like to not be anyone's "bitch" anymore.

Thursday, June 15, 2006

Back to "normal"

I haven't posted in a while. I have been very busy with work. You would think, too, that now that Jurgen has passed his exams life can return to normal. For him it has. In fact, it is better. He often doesn't work full days and tonight is his very last night on call as a resident EVER! Things are definately looking up for Dr. Jurgen.
On the other hand, I am feeling overwhelmed again. I think to mysef - how many times am I going to have to feel this way? When will I start to feel competent? When will this feeling of not knowing enough go away? I guess not until you pass your exams, maybe not even then.
I really feel like I need a break. I have been doing a lot of call (I am 1:2 for the next 6 days), as well as moonlighting to try to pay off some of the expenses for our new house, as well as organizing all of the Friday sessions for the whole next year (Man! I didn't realize just how much work that would be), and I am trying to juggle studying and a social life and exercise somewhere in there.
There is, however, an end in sight. Jurgen and I have compromised on a holiday. We are both going to take the first 10 days of July off. We will probably just hang out in Regina and at the lake for the long weekend, but then later in the week we are planning to go to Canmore, Alta, and go whitewater rafting! That should be a blast. Combine that with some shopping in Calgary and I think it will be a fun couple of days. I am really looking forward to that. I am also looking forward to being in Regina for a month with no call.
OK, don't get me wrong. I complain about work and being a resident A LOT. I get that it must suck to read this. I do like my job. Last night on call, one of my patients gave me a hug when she woke up because her anesthetic was so good and she felt 100% better. I like Anesthesia, I don't like being a resident. As I said to the medical students yesturday when they asked if I was happy, You have unhappy periods in EVERY residency in every specialty. I wouldn't/couldn't change what I do. I just want the training part to be over.
My next post I promise will be fun and full of pics from our trip (now that I have figured out how to post pics!)

Cheers.

Monday, June 05, 2006

Dr. Jurgen

Please join me in congratulating my super awesome, super smart, amazing husband in passing his fellowship examinations!!

CONGRATULATIONS,


Dr. Jurgen Maslany MD, FRCPC

We all knew you could do it!

He is my hero.

Friday, June 02, 2006

Jurgen preexam




We are currently in Ottawa. We got up VERY early and were on the plane for Winnepeg (man! Is that an ugly airport!) and then to Ottawa. Jurgen wanted to go to the Royal College so he would know where it was and feel better. Well, it was a good thing we went.... Jurgen now knows he will take a cab as it took us HOURS to walk there (OK, maybe only an hour and a half or two, but still). He said it helped, though, knowing he could find it, knowing which building to go to, and just going for a walk.
Well, here goes nothing. As I said before...

GO JURGEN GO!!!