Sick Day
Jurgen has been sick 4 times in 8 months. I don't know if it is related to the amount that he works, that he doesn't sleep enough or eat well enough, or if it has to do with the fact that he has an IgA deficiency. Anyway, he is sick a lot. I walk around flaunting the fact that I never get sick. Oh, I can share your drink, kiss you, I won't get sick. It has finally caught up with me. It started on Monday night on call with just the sniffles, then sneezes. Today (Wednesday) I woke up feeling yucky. Classic cold - stuffy runny nose, sneezing, headache, fatigue. I thought seriously about going to work, but in the end I decided I needed a "sick day".
It was actually a productive day - got lots of studying done, but also, the usual sick day stuff. It was more what Annabelle calls a "mental health day". We all need those once in awhile. Lets you get "reset" and caught up mentally. The only think that would have made this day a perfect sick day would have been having the girls here (they are with their Dad).
All was well, until just now. I just got off the phone with Jurgen (on call) and now am mad. He was talking to me in the OR. We were having a normal conversation, and I was really interested in his day, when he brings up the fact that he thinks he should have his own chair in the OR (one especially made for him). OK, like I really give a care. He can look like a total loser if he wants to. Besides, I wouldn't be paying for it anyway. However, to bring it up in front of the nurses makes me look like I do care, and I am the one preventing it. I told him he shouldn't do that because it makes me look like a bitch. He says, "well, if the shoe fits.." Hardy har har, oh so funny. So, I hung up.
He is such a child! It is that kind of crap, that creates anamosity between me and the Regina people. They start to think that I am just this awful controlling person (how much control do I have when I can't even get my husband to stay in the same city as me?!), and then when I come there that is how they will treat me. Does he not want me to come there? Does he want it to be awful for me? Does he want me to be the catalyst that will take us out of this province? Does he want me around at all?
Maybe I am reading too much into all of this, but when you are at home, sick, feeling sorry for yourself, that is not exactly how you want to be treated.
Men suck

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home