A Resident's Life

This is a blog about my trials and tribulations as I complete my residency.

Thursday, February 16, 2006

Tired of having "no heart"

I warn any of you who actually read this... if you are tired of hearing me complain about my life, then go and do something else for 5 minutes. I need to vent, and this is my medium. My husband is not sympathetic and I feel like anyone who would truly understand would not be sympathetic either. I just want someone to agree with me that my life sucks.

I hate Cardiology. It is a LOT of repetitve, boring work. I have done a lot of call lately (am post call today, maybe that is why I am grumpy). I hate being called every hour, or two times an hour with stupid calls. Go see someone who is in atrial fibrillation - OK, but she is sleeping, not having any symptoms, and known to have Afib. The poor patient had to be woken up by the ECG tech and me, and I don't think we did her any good, but hey, I did what the nurses asked me to. And chest pain? If I never see another person with chest pain, it will be too soon.
I feel like none of the nurses know me, nor do they care. The fellows aren't all that helpful. Not to mention the fact that one of them insulted me last night by insinuating that I couldn't do my job (" do you know how to do lines?" I said, "I am anesthesia" what does she think I have been doing for the last 3 years?!). And the teaching? Well, the attendings are only interested in service, and sure some of the fellows teach, but a lot of it is Internal Medicine crap that I just don't care about.
I just keep thinking that I have made a big mistake. Do I like my job? Sometimes. Does it make me happy? Sometimes. But, it has been a really long time since I have felt like I am making any difference and that I am truly good at what I do. I hate doing call more than anything. I hate feeling tired all the time. I hate constantly trying to prove myself. I hate always feeling like I don't know anything, or at least enough. I hate feeling like I am working towards nothing and that the hell will never end. Will it end? Well, it is ending for Jurgen. But I really doubt I am as smart as he is. I don't think I can do it. I have been living in his shadow far too long.
Counting the bad moments.... Counting down the days left in this rotation... Only to start another... Is it worth it? It is difficult to know.... Only time will tell.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home